Saturday, December 4, 2010

SpaceX: Falcon 9 Rocket and Dragon Spacecraft Readied for Tuesday's Launch

Credit: SpaceX

SpaceX reports "Full duration static fire! We'll continue to review data but today's static fire appears to be a success."

This first COTS-1 demonstration flight will carry the first operational Dragon Spacecraft and will be the second flight for the Falcon 9 rocket. The launch is now targeted for December 7th, 2010 (with 8th and 9th as back-up days) with a launch window between 9:00am and 12:22pm EST from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station's Launch Complex 40. The mission profile calls for the dragon Spacecraft to complete three to four orbits, transmit telemetry, receive commands, maneuver, re-enter and splash down off the coast of Southern California.

NASA will hold a prelaunch news conference on Monday, December 6th at 1:30 p.m. EST, at the press site at NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Florida. NASA Television will provide live coverage of the briefing at A post-mission news conference will be held at Kennedy approximately one hour after splashdown occurs which will also be broadcasted live. On launch day, Dec. 7, NASA TV live coverage will begin at the conclusion of the built in hold at T-5 minutes and counting.

Live coverage of the launch will also be available at the SpaceX website. The webcast will begin approximately 45 minutes prior to the opening of the daily launch window, at 8:15 a.m. EST / 5:15 a.m. PST / 13:15 UTC. During the webcast, SpaceX hosts will provide information specific to the flight, an overview of the Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon spacecraft and commentary on the launch and flight sequences.

SpaceflightNow will also cover the launch at their Mission Status Center with text updates and streaming video of the launch.

No comments: